You’ll find a list of Wales’ local authorities on the Welsh Local Government Association’s website.

You can find out more about the role of local authorities on the website of the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA), which promotes local democracy in Wales.

Welsh Language Standards

The Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011 created a new system of Welsh Language Standards.  The Standards will replace the Welsh Language Schemes developed under the 1993 Welsh Language Act, and will allow the Welsh Language Commissioner to impose duties on organisations. 

The main aims of the standards are to:

·         Improve the Welsh-language services people can expect to receive from organisations.

·         Increase the use people make of Welsh-language services.

·         Make it clear to organisations what they need to do in terms of the Welsh language.

·         Ensure that there is an appropriate degree of consistency in terms of the duties placed on organisations in the same sector.

No.1 Regulations – Local Authorities, National Parks  and Welsh Ministers


The Welsh Language Standards (No.1) Regulations came into force in 2015. The first set of organisations required to comply with the new standards system were the Welsh Ministers, Local Authorities and National Park Authorities. The Welsh Government (and its body of staff) falls under the category of Welsh Ministers.

Following the making of that first set of Regulations, the Welsh Language Commissioner set about consulting individually with each of those organisations (including Welsh Government) on draft compliance notices before issuing final compliance notices in September 2015. The compliance notices state which standards each body has to comply with. Take a look on the  Commissioner's website to know your rights when dealing with individual bodies.

Welsh Language Standard and Other bodies

The second standards investigation included organisations within the health sector, police forces, fire authorities, further and higher education bodies, Welsh tribunals, and other major Welsh bodies, for example S4C, National Library for Wales, Wales Millennium Centre and the National Botanic Garden of Wales. Due to the volume of organisations in the second standards investigation, regulations have been introduced gradually.

Three sets of regulations were passed by the Assembly in 2016. The first of these, the No.2 Regulations came into force on 16 February 2016 and allows the Commissioner to impose standards on 32 bodies. These are varied bodies, and include the Wales Millennium Centre, S4C, BBC, National Museum for Wales, Sports Wales, National Library for Wales, and the Information Commissioner.

Regulations No. 4 and No. 5 came into force on 22 March 2016. These No 4 Regulations are applicable to Welsh Tribunals and the Education Workforce Council, and the No. 5 Regulations are applicable to Police Forces, the IPCC, and Fire and Rescue Authorities.

Share this page

Sign up now to receive the latest news on Welsh events.

Back to top